HOBBY LOBBY

This title should really be enough for this post. That’s how much this damn store means to me. I am all for the thrift stores and flea markets, that is my jam. However, since purchasing this home, I have discovered a fluorescent-lit behemoth just down the street. It’s orange letters drew me in hypnotically and before I knew it, it had me in it’s snares. It is conveniently located on my way home for work. So whenever I’ve had a rough day, guess where I’m heading? Yup. Hobby Lobby.

While I love my old faithful Target, I feel like it’s sorely lacking in the wall art department. I despise tacky mass produced canvas art (especially if it’s sold in a trio. Just yuck). However, Hobby Lobby has an AWESOME selection of super cool and different art. I had been stressing so much over this empty wall in my living room. I had found several amazing prints on Minted.com that were perfect. How gorgeous is this photograph of the Louvre?

Screen Shot 2016-02-16 at 7.34.06 PM

                                                                                    Minted.com

 

Or this intense shot:

Screen Shot 2016-02-16 at 7.37.03 PM.png

Minted.com

 

Awesome, amirite? They have an incredible selection of beautiful artwork that you can have custom framed. However, while incredible, it does come with a higher price tag. I’m thinking of getting a statement piece from there at some point. However, for just a few prints in my living room, I was looking for something a little more cost effective.

It was at this point that I decided to check out Hobby Lobby just to see if they had anything interesting. I wasn’t expecting too much. When it comes to art work, I like unique stuff. However, I was pleasantly surprised going into this place. I found two pieces that I loved. I decided to splurge and get both (they were each priced at about $30). Imagine my surprise when I got to the register and found they were 50% off! BIG TIME Score!!

 

IMG_3280.jpg

The one on the left is an agate stone (which I am obsessed with) while the other is just a simple print of blue brushstrokes. After getting the pictures up, I decided that I needed a third as the wall was much larger than I had remembered. And what the hell? They were cheap as all get out. So I went back and found a third:

 

IMG_3302.jpg

I’m really pleased with how they’ve turned out! However, I do feel like the wall is missing something. My first instinct was to put a table underneath them, but the hallway is too narrow. I’m thinking eventually I could put up a picture shelf in a darker color for some contrast. But for now, I’m happy with the result.

So long story short, Hobby Lobby is the shiznit and everyone should go and have a glorious time. The end.

 

-K

One thought on “HOBBY LOBBY

Leave a Reply

