I hate my backsplash.

I cannot tell you about how many times hubs and I have argued over this darn backsplash. It was the first thing I noticed when I walked into our kitchen for the first time. “This backsplash will have to go.”. There’s nothing particularly wrong it it per se. It hasn’t personally offended me or slandered my mother. But it’s just so….bleurgh.

IMG_3519.jpg

See what I mean? It’s not bad. It’s just bland. It doesn’t pop. My eye isn’t drawn. I am a subway tile kind of girl and it breaks my heart because it just isn’t going to happen in this kitchen. The kitchen itself is traditional in style. I would love nothing more than to paint the cabinets white, change out the appliances, switch out the granite, and install my beloved subway tile. Alas, that would not only be stupid, but inconceivable budget-wise. The kitchen is nice, the cabinets are cherry (again, not my style, but I can appreciate their quality), the countertops are black granite, and the appliances are black and fairly new. The kitchen is in good shape. It’s just not me. My concern is, of course, taking into account resale. So I don’t want to go too far out there on something huge like the kitchen. I accept that I have interesting and sometimes out-there taste and wouldn’t want to turn potential future buyers off. But, I am looking to switch out this backsplash for something a little cooler to improve the overall look of the room. Something like this possibly:

Screen Shot 2016-02-16 at 9.34.56 PM.png

decorpad.com

We shall see what the backsplash has in store for me. In the meantime, just for fun, below are some of my dream kitchens. Oh, but a girl can dream….

 

Screen Shot 2016-02-16 at 9.40.55 PM.png

dustjacket-attic.com

Screen Shot 2016-02-16 at 9.42.43 PM.png

elledecor.com

Screen Shot 2016-02-16 at 9.43.23 PM.png

designsponge.com

 

Screen Shot 2016-02-16 at 9.44.52 PM.png

housetohome.co.uk

Screen Shot 2016-02-16 at 9.49.10 PM.png

centsationalgirl.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

