Wreath Wreck?

I have a problem. And his name is Humongo.

IMG_3657.jpg

Humongo is what I call that large mirror above my mantle. The mirror itself is pretty dull and boring, but apparently the prior owners loved him so much they put a sticking curse on the damn thing. It is on that wall and it refuses to budge. So, sadly, I’m making due with what I have. It’s not a terrible mirror, but it’s so huge, I feel like I need something to break it up (no pun intended).

I had mentioned in my last post that I was planning on making a wreath to go over the mirror. Well, inspiration struck and I scurried off to dear old Hobby Lobby. I dusted off my cheap pink glue gun and whipped up this bad boy:

IMG_3541.jpg

I mean, it’s not terrible. It’s kind of a little cute. Actually, I think that may be the problem. It’s a little too cute. My taste tends to be a little edgier and while I initially thought this idea would be great, after I finished, I’m not sure it fits with my theme. The flowers were fun to make though thanks to some handy tutorials I found on somethingturquoise.com. The tutorials were great and the flowers were fairly easy to cobble together. I especially liked the way these turned out:

IMG_3654.jpg

I’m thinking of hanging it on my front door, but haven’t completely decided. Ah well, onward!

-K

Leave a Reply

