Treasure Hunting

One of my favorite things to do is antiquing and thrifting. The hubs gets so annoyed because if you let me in an antique store or flea market, you won’t see me for a good two hours. Even if I only wind up buying something small, I just love the process of looking through everything. I’ve always been a lover of antiques. Anything that has a story in particular I am drawn to. That’s when I was so thrilled to find this treasure trove hiding in my mom’s china cabinet.

Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 6.37.27 PM.png

Are these incredible or what?! We found them in an old manila folder in the back of her cabinet. They are old postcards from the 60’s from a trip my dad took with his parents when he was a kid. They went on a road trip across the country and picked these up all along the way. My mom was hesitant to part with them, but I eventually talked her into it. Hey, they were just sitting in a smelly old envelope! I originally had plans of making a collage with them and hanging them in my foyer. I even bought the frame for it and everything. But unfortunately, once I got them up, it just wasn’t working for me. It wasn’t what I envisioned and I just couldn’t get the layout right. For now, I’ve chosen a couple to put in frames around the house and put the rest in a safe place in the sock drawer. I’m still brainstorming on an idea of what to do with them all. But in the meantime, I don’t want to mess with them too much as they are quite old. Below are the photos I have framed so far. This first one was actually a frame I found in my parents basement. The glass diamond was also a basement find (I’m telling you, I was on fire that day! Thankfully I have a super cool mom who doesn’t mind sharing her unused vintage pieces).

Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 6.43.29 PM.png

IMG_4315.jpgIMG_4316.jpg

I’ll keep you updated on what I come up with for the rest of these beauties.

-K

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

